Skip to content
University of Oregon

Faculty

REEES Faculty

Jenifer Presto
REEES Director/Comparative Literature
20th-century Russian literature, modernism, gender poetry, cultural studies272 PLC
(541) 346-4065
presto@uoregon.eduWebsite

Katya Hokanson
REEES /Comparative Literature
19th-century Russian literature, women’s writing, Russian colonialism

247 PLC and PLC 271
(541) 346-3947
hokanson@uoregon.edu

Website

Yelaina Kripkov
Senior Instructor
Russian language, culture; coordinator, Russian language program. M.A., 1983, Moscow State Pedagogical Institute; Ph.D., 1996, Kansas. (1995)

245 PLC
(541) 346-4077
ykripkov@uoregon.edu

Julia Nemirovskaya
Instructor
Russian literature and theater. M.A., 1986, Ph.D., 1991, Moscow State. (2002)

271 PLC
(541) 346-4001
nemro@uoregon.edu

Website

 

VakareliyskaCynthia Vakareliyska
Linguistics
Slavic Linguistics 275 Straub Hall
(541) 346-5922
vakarel@uoregon.edu
Website

Knight Librarian

Heghine Hakobyan
Slavic Librarian

121 Knight Library
(541) 346-1858
heghineh@uoregon.edu

Participating Faculty

Roy Bing Chan
East Asian Languages and Literatures
Assistant Professor of Chinese Literature
(541) 346-4041
rbc@uoregon.edu

Website

Julie Hessler
REEES History
20th-century Russian and European history
351 McKenzie
(541) 346-4857
hessler@uoregon.edu

Website

Alan Kimball
History
Russian history and political culture, especially late Imperial period

367 McKenzie
(541) 346-4813
kimball@uoregon.edu

Website

Karrie Koesel
Political Science
Assistant Professor of Political Science
915 Prince Lucien Campbell Hall (PLC)
(541) 346-4623
koesel@uoregon.edu

Website

Soo “Susanna” Jung Lim
Robert D. Clark Honors College
Associate Professor of Literature
308 Chapman Hall
(541) 346-0691
susannal@uoregon.edu

Website

Anna Mikhaylova
Linguistics
Assistant Professor
220 Straub Hall
(541) 346-3682
mikhaylo@uoregon.edu

Website

Mikhail Myagkov
Political Science
comparative politics, formal political theory

913 PLC
(541) 346-4868
myagkov@uoregon.edu

Curriculum Vitae

Stephen J. Shoemaker
Religious Studies
History of Eastern Christianity

813 PLC
(541) 346-4998
sshoemak@uoregon.edu

http://uoregon.edu/~religion/faculty

Carol Silverman
Anthropology
performance, eastern Europe, gender

321 Condon
(541) 346-5114
csilverm@uoregon.edu

Website

Caleb Southworth
Sociology
economic sociology, postsocialist societies, quantitative-historical methods

720 PLC
(541) 346-5034
caleb@uoregon.edu

Website

Associated Faculty

John Bonine
Law
Slavic Linguistics

320 Law
(541) 346-3827
jbonine@uoregon.edu

Website


Mary-Lyon Dolezal

Art History381 Lawrence Hall
(541) 346-2071
mdolezal@uoregon.edu

Keith A. Eddins
REEES Instructor, Post-Communist Russia and Eastern Europe
eddinska@gmail.com
Keith Eddins’ Biography

Alexander Kashirin

History340M McKenzie Hall
(541) 346-6165
akashiri@uoregon.eduWebsite

Sherwin Simmons
Art History

381 Lawrence Hall
(541) 346-2080
ssimmons@uoregon.edu

Andrew Verner
Business

302G Peterson
(541) 346-3251
averner@lcbmail.uoregon.edu

Website

Lisa Wolverton
History

325 McKenzie
(541) 346-6158
lwolvert@lcbmail.uoregon.edu

Website

Courtesy Faculty

Amanda Bird
Courtesy Professor with emphasis in Central Asia, Folklore, Translation and Persian literature
BA, 1994, Baylor University; MA, 2006, University of Oregon

amandab@uoregon.edu

Norma “Bean” Comrada
Courtesy Professor, Slavic literature
BA, 1954, Whitman College; MS, 1983, University of Oregon

comrada@uoregon.edu

Norma Comrada CV

Tamara Morris
Courtesy Professor, Russian Linguistics (Dialectology)
Ph.D. (1986) and Sc.D. (2005) The Vinogradov Institute of Russian Language, Russian Academy of Sciences

tbmorris@uoregon.edu

Conducting research on Russian communities of Old Believers, in North America and in E. Europe to Siberia.

Emeriti Faculty

Esther Jacobson-Tepfer
Art History
Asian art, art of inner Asia during the Bronze and Iron Ages

247 Lawrence
(541) 346-3677
ejacobs@uoregon.edu

Website

Ronald Wixman
Geography
former Soviet Union, eastern Europe, cultural geography

275 Condon
(541) 346-4568
rwixman@uoregon.edu

Website

In Memoriam

Richard Morris
Aug 1, 1933 to July 14, 2015

M.A. 1975 Western Washington; Ph.D., 1981, Oregon. (1982)
Courtesy professor Morris conducted research on Russian communities, especially of Old Believers, in North America and in East Europe to Siberia.

James Rice
1938-2011

A.B., 1960, Harvard; M.A., 1964, Ph.D., 1965, Chicago. (1967)

Nathan Rosen
1920-2014

M.A. 1975 Western Washington; Ph.D., 1981, Oregon. (1982)

Fruim Yurevich
January 3, 1936 to April 6, 2011

Russian Senior Instructor Emeritus
Diploma, 1959, Astrakhan State Pedagogical Institute; M.A., 1976, Oregon. (1975)